Ateneo Physics faculty Dr. Gemma Narisma is NAST Outstanding Young Scientist for Atmospheric Science

Dr. Gemma Narisma

Dr. Gemma Narisma

From SOSE:

The School of Science and Engineering is pleased to announce that Dr. Gemma Teresa T. Narisma, Associate Professor of the Department of Physics, has been selected as the recipient of the 2012 Outstanding Young Scientist (OYS) Award in the field of Atmospheric Science by the National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST).

As OYS awardee, Narisma will receive a plaque and a cash prize of Php100,000 which will be given during the NAST Annual Scientific Meeting and awarding ceremonies on July 12, 2012 at the Manila Hotel.

Aside from these prizes, she will be awarded a research grant of Php500,000 BY THE Department of Science and Technology (DOST) upon approval of a research proposal.

Narisma obtained her doctoral degree in Atmospheric Science form Macquarie University in Australia. She was affiliated with the Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment at the University of Wisconsin, Madison until 2008, doing research on climate change and land cover change-climate interactions. She returned to the Ateneo in November 2008 to resume teaching.

She has since undertaken projects with the Manila Observatory and has published several scientific articles in international journals.

Narisma joins the following Loyola Schools faculty members who have been named OYSs by the NAST over the years:

Edsel L. Beja, Jr. (Economics)

Erwin P. Enriquez (Chemistry)

Ma. Regina M. Hechanova (Psychology)

Queena N. Lee-Chua (Mathematics)

Joseph Anthony Y. Lim (Economics)

Ma. Emma Concepcion D. Liwag (Psychology)

Jose A. Marasigan (Mathematics)

Felix P. Muga II (Mathematics)

Czarina Saloma-Akpedonu (Sociology and Anthropology)

Luis Francisco G. Sarmenta (Computer Science)

Regina C. So (Chemistry)

John Paul C. Vergara (Computer Science)
*Dr. Vergara is the current Vice President for the Loyola Schools

Jose Ramon T. Villarin, SJ (Physics)
*Fr. Villarin is the current President of the Ateneo de Manila University

Other NAST notables among the Ateneo community are former School of Science and Engineering Dean Dr. Fabian M. Dayrit who was named Academician in 2009, and former Ateneo de Manila President Fr. Bienvenido F. Nebres, SJ who was named National Scientist in 2011.


About ateneophysicsnews
Physics News and Features from Ateneo de Manila University

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: